• You are here: News


Are you a female or non-binary practitioner or researching gender? Enter the 2024 W Awards now


Three categories in the annual W Awards – for both practitioners and researchers – are now open. Entry is free and the deadline is 17 November 2023

Formerly known as Women in Architecture, the W Awards, run in association with The Architectural Review, celebrate exemplary work by women and non-binary people, as well as research in the fields of gender and architecture.

The three categories open for entries are:

  • The MJ Long Prize for Excellence in Practice, awarded to UK-based designers, working in practice, for a recent building for which they were project architect
  • The Moira Gemmill Prize for Emerging Architecture, open to practice leaders from all over the world under the age of 45
  • A prize for research projects investigating the spatial implications of gender and sexuality, introduced for the first time last year

Entry is free and you can nominate yourself or someone else. Find out more about the different prizes and eligibility criteria.


Shortlisted practitioners will be announced early next year, and winners will receive a trophy commissioned by Phyllis Lambert, winner of the 2023 Ada Louise Huxtable Prize and founder of the Canadian Centre for Architecture (CCA).

The profession needs fresh thinking and new role models, and we look forward to receiving your entries.

Last year, architect Kirsten Gabriëls Webb, associate at London, Zurich and Brussels-based practice Sergison Bates was awarded the MJ Long Prize for De Korenbloem sheltered housing, a care home in Belgium for residents with young-onset dementia.

Sergison Bates’ pilot project to retrofit the two villas and connect them to two new buildings in the Flemish town of Kortrijk, in collaboration with Studio Thys Vermeulen is the third care home Gabriëls Webb has designed for the practice in Europe, having joined in 2011.

Meanwhile, the Moira Gemmill Prize for Emerging Architecture went to Viviana Pozzoli, co-founder of Paraguay-based practice Equipo de Arquitectura. The award recognises excellence in design and a bright future for international designers under the age of 45.


Pozzoli won the prize for an early childhood centre in Villeta in Paraguay. Her work navigates the social, ecological and economic challenges of working in Paraguay to create buildings rooted in their place.

Campaign group Part W won the inaugural Prize for Research in Gender and Architecture in 2023 for its mapping project Women’s Work: London.

The initiative, in collaboration with feminist design collective Edit, builds upon work the group produced for a show at the Barbican in 2021, an initial map of 20 projects which was included in the exhibition How We Live Now: Reimagining Spaces with Matrix Feminist Design Collective.

Nominate a talented architect or put yourself forward

Entry is free
Read the entry guidelinehere
Deadline Friday 17 November
Visit w-awards.architectural-review.com to start an entry

Renaming the awards in 2020, along with the associated W Programme, reflects an evolution in how we think about identity, how we understand our gender structures and systems of categorisation, as well as the myriad intersectional challenges that marginalised groups face. Through this small change, we hope to make room for multiple identities and complex conversations.

Find out more about the W Awards and all past winners here.

Lead image: Mona Hatoum crafted last year’s trophies awarded to the winners. The winners of the W Awards 2024 will receive a trophy commissioned by founder of the CCA Phyllis Lambert. Photograph by Luke Hayes

You might also be interested in…

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.